Meet Our Team

Drawing on diverse backgrounds and extensive experience, the CIOOS Atlantic team is working to develop an interoperable system which allows those who use and depend on the ocean to better adapt in the face of a changing environment. We are committed to collaborating with colleagues, organizations and communities regionally to develop a system which is built by, and built for, our local oceanographic community.

We are committed to making open ocean data in Atlantic Canada work for you!

Shayla Fitzsimmons

Executive Director


shayla.fitzsimmons@cioosatlantic.ca

Jeff Cullis

Technical Director


jcullis@cioosatlantic.ca

Jacob Thompson

Ocean Data Manager


jacob.thompson@cioosatlantic.ca

Scott Bruce

Ocean Data Specialist


scott.bruce@cioosatlantic.ca

Shen Molloy

Engagement Specialist


shen.molloy@cioosatlantic.ca

Alexi Baccardax Westcott

Engagement Specialist


alexi.westcott@cioosatlantic.ca

Larissa Dos Santos Soares

Ocean Data Visualization Student


ldssoares@mun.ca

Rine Zaman

Ocean Data Visualization Student


rzaman@mun.ca

Our Extended CIOOS Atlantic Team

Mike Smit, PI

Associate Professor

Dalhousie University

Richard Kelly, Co-PI

Project Engineer

Marine Institute

Richard Davis

Research Implementation Unit Manager

Ocean Frontier Institute

James Munroe

Associate Professor

Memorial University of Newfoundland

Fred Whoriskey

Executive Director

Ocean Tracking Network

Odum Idika

Ocean Data & Creative Services Manager

Ocean Frontier Institute

Kate Patterson

Data Team Manager

Ocean Frontier Institute

Jon Pye

Assistant Director of Data Management

Ocean Tracking Network

Anja Samardzic

Communications Manager

Ocean Tracking Network

Nikki Beauchamp

Communications Coordinator

Ocean Tracking Network

Ryan Gosse

Senior Programmer

Ocean Tracking Network